The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

There are many loopholes in the recommendation given by the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Company.

Firstly, fewer people attending the Super-Screen produced movies during past years does not account for people attending movies in the upcoming years. Maybe the entertainemnt tax on movie tickets was higher in previous year than this year so it discouraged people from attending movies altogether. Therefore, allocating a greater share of budget to advertising will reap no results in this regard.

Secondly, we cannot conclude anything substantial from the perentage of movie reviews given. More information is required to actually compare the positive word of mouth about Super Screen movies. It is possible that the number of movie goers decreased but the review was not positive. The calcuation in this manner will reveal skewed results. Thus, allocating a greater share of budget to advertising will also not help.

Even if the advertising budget receives an increment from previous years it does not guarantee that the content of upcoming movies will pertain to the tastes and preferences of the consumer. Here, good quality movies are sujective to the likings and disliking of the final customer. Morever, we cannot conclude that lack of awareness is the only cause of people not attending Super Screen- produced movies. Maybe these movies are facing competition from movies being telecast on television ever weekend. This invariably will reduce the number of people coming to attend Super Screen- produced movies.

All these factors have no direct link to the advertising budget of Super Screens. In conclusion allocating a greater amount of money to reach out to public will not make much sense for the Super Screen Movie Company.