The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc.

"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memo shared by the Vice President of Marketing at Dura-Socks Inc is incomplete. Further information is required to evaluate the complete scenario.

Firstly, it is mentioned that customers of Dura-Socks Inc, on average, purchase new socks every three months but an average does not provide us with the true values of sales and purchases taking place. It may be possible that, Dura-Inc launches new varients of socks every few months and hence the brand loyal customers buy the socks. It is nowhere indicated that the old socks have been soiled and thus the purchases are made every three months. It is also possible that some people buy very few pairs of socks while others buy in bulk, thereby skewing the average. Again, this does not question the durability of the socks in any manner. More information is needed to check if this recommendation stands true.

Secondly, by discontinuing the use of Endure manufacturing process, Dura-Socks cannot guarantee increase in profits. Profits depend on a variety of factors such as cost of goods, operations cost, sales price etc. Maybe the Edure manufacturing process provides a cost effective approch to manufacturing socks which might not be available in future if it is discontinued. It is also possible that there might be no new technology available in current times to produce socks. Thus, discontinuing an already established service is not recommended. Purchase of new sophisticated machinery may lead to reduced profits as it will be a cost incurred by the company to change the manufacturing process. Workers operating these machines will also have to be trained leading to a break in supply chain operations of the socks.

Lastly, the memo does not state any evidence of previous socks going bad. It may be the case that customers in Northeastern United Sates cities feel more cold and hence buy socks in more varients frequently than cutomers in other markets. Discontinuing the Endure manufacturing process just beacuse the customer segment of one geographical location is not focusing on durability as a characteristic will not necessailry lead to profit-making.

Hence, additional information is required to check if these recommendations are reasonable.