The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given suggestion from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University is heavily flawed. Specific evidence is needed to evaluate the given suggestion.

Firstly, it is imperative to know what is the composition of professors at Ocenia University as well as Seatown University. The following questions will help us evaluate the argument better- how big/small are both universities? What is the student to professor ratio in both universities? Maybe the professors at Seatown University have multiple classes scheduled causing increased workload and hence the employee retention is low. Maybe Oceania University has fewer students per batch so the professors are more comfortable with the syllabi as well as setting tests for students.

Secondly, further information is required about the salary given to tenured and non-tenured professors at both universities. What perks are enjoyed by the faculty should be also taken into consideration before reaching a conclusion. Maybe the morale of professors can be increased by giving monetary incentives in the pay package. Perks can also be modified such as giving free food coupons or increasing the number of paid leaves annually to boost morale.

Thirdly, we need to know how many professors have children in the college-going age bracket. Moreover, we need to know whether the courses being opted by these children are being offered by Seatown University or not. Along with these, what will be the terms and conditions of the free-tuition of policy will also need to be stated out to the professors of Seatown University so that questions like - for how many years will the policy be valid or for how many children can the policy be availed can be planned for well in advance.

The above factors will helpful in evaluating if a free-tuition policy for the children of Seatown University professors will be useful or not.