A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given statement does not provide enough information to determine whether the pet food company should devote resources to further investigation or not.

Firstly, we cannot assume that the recalled food has some problems without looking at some external causes such as packaging. For example, if the pet food was in cans- were the cans damaged from any end? If the pet food was in cardboard boxes- was the seal intact? If any kind of tampering had taken place in the packaging, then it might have resulted in the pet food getting soiled due to air and moisture present in the environment. In this case, the company should not devote further resources to the investigation as there is no issue with the pet food.

Secondly, nothing is stated about the expiration date or the "best before use" date. Maybe the consumers who brought expired pet food faced certain problems as their pets experienced vomiting, lethargy and other signs of illness. It is also possible that these chemicals used in pet food were approved for use in pet food, but only before the expiration date. Hence further information is required to proceed to the next steps.

Thirdly, there is no mention of the production process of the pet food. There are high chances that the permissive level of chemicals was crossed during the initial stages of pet food and hence it was not detected in quality checks, if any. Even though the company is using chemicals that are the approved, we do not know anything about the ratio of these chemicals in pet food. Further information is needed to evaluate the above.

Lastly, information related to the type of pet food, how much is the serving size for different pets etc is required before reaching a conclusion. Whether the pet food company should devote further resources to the investigation will depend on all the above factors.