Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

I do not agree with the given policy of monitoring all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring raises moral and ethical concerns for all stakeholders within and outside the organisation. Moreover, there it hinders the freedom of communication between employees. If such a policy is put into place, there will be more negative consequences than one can imagine.

If routine checking of emails is instated then it will directly hamper the right to privacy. Even though the resources of the company are being used, what is communicated between teams or between peers should not be monitored. Sometimes, there is a risk of leaking personal information if proper steps are not taken while maintaining records of such correspondence. Not to mention, the added cost of storing these conversations on hard disk or cloud storage. Additional resources in the field of informational technology will have to be hired to make sure such breaches do not happen thus increasing costs for the company. If the said company is a mid sized or a small organisation, it will not be feasible to implement such a policy.

There is also no proven correlation between reducing the system capacity as highlighted in the policy. If employees are already aware that their emails are subject to routine scrutiny, they will prefer to shift their conversations elsewhere and keep emails as a source of official communication only. Many such applications offer chat box features, where all previous chats are deleted after sometime. Employees can thus ping each other rather than typing lengthy emails. This will have an opposite effect and increase the time taken to complete tasks at hand.

The policy also states that regular checks over emails will prevent the company from lawsuits. However, it does factor into account that most "controversial" discussions happen over memos and not emails as email accounts are easy to hack. To contain such a situation, the company can put in place some survelliance measures but monitoring emails will not help. Instead, regular seminars talking about the best practices will be more effective.

Hence, it is advisable that the company management finds alternatives to monitoring e-mails of emoployees so that it benefits all stakeholders of the company.