People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the pos

Indeed, people who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers. This can be clearly seen in many historical examples as well as in modern times.

Firstly, basing decisions on emotions does not mean that these decisions are well thought of. There are high chances that a person is emotionally charged, following a particular incident which has in turn influenced his/her decision making capability. Some people might argue that empathising with people in need is essential to make the correct decision but such decisions might not be practically applicable to implement.

Spending considerable time and resources on a particular decision is also not prudent. Often, decisions based on emotion are taken quickly but they neglect the cost associated and time required to carry these out. For example, if the president of a particular country club decides to distribute free food to the needy from the club's kitchen, without thinking rationally, it will add additional burden to the employees of the club. Food preparation and distribution will involve a few employees to work overtime. If not compensated for the same, there might be resentment among employees causing firction with the management. The president of the country club might justify his actions by indicating that social causes are a way of obtaining goodwill but as we can see, this is being done at the expense of employees.

A more wise decision would have been, to distribute leftover food from meals each day to the needy and destitues. This would have ensured zero wastage while meeting the end goal of giving back to society. Thus, poor decision making can be avoided if decisions are not only based on emotions but also logic and practicality.

Sometimes, people are remorseful, cross and even feel helpless while making decisions. A bigger problem at hand is if these decision makers are at powerful positions enough to impact a large number of people. Decisions, if only based on emotion will pose danger to each person in society. Hence, a large group of advisors are present during every such decision making process focusing on the rationale behind the issue being discussed. For instance, in healthcare systems, a vaccine can be tried on humans only after it has qualified certain criteria. Coming from an emotional perspective and pushing for the use of such a vaccine will not be helpful here as it will put the lives of various people at risk. In such a scenario, the justification of such actions will also be considered void.

Therefore, defending emotional decisions with logic afterwards, is an indicator of poor decision makers.