Claim:  Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason:  Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Often, youngsters receive advices such as "follow your dreams" or "follow your heart" but every person is different and therefore their goals will be different.

It is very common in youngsters to pick unworthy goals with the plethora of options out in the real world. Without proper guidance if they are set free to do what they want, they might end up wasting time on unworthy things while they could have used that time to develop themselves in some other field which is right for them. So, it is quite significant for youngsters to seek advice of experienced people before picking out goals because they might not always have enough information to make a proper decision.

Once they are furnished with all the information, enough to think about the pros and cons in their field of interest, they can choose their dream otherwise they might end up in a field that is not right for them.

While this advice seems to be innocuous , in some cases it may have completely unexpected consequences. For example, if there is a person with a slight bullying attitude and if that person is told to follow his/her heart then he/she might end up hurting someone and eventually himself/herself. It would be wrong to go to a criminal minded person and ask him/her to follow his/her dreams, that would lead to some serious repercussions. Hence it is important to be aware of a person's state of mind, before injecting any ideas into his/her mind through advices.

Hence, in my view I agree to the saying , "Follow your dreams" but only after meticulous research about that dream.