Claim:  Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason:  Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

"Follow your dream" as been the advice given by many to young people. However, popularity do not necessary equals truth. The idea of doing whatever one's heart desires is extremely idealist. In addition to doing what one's is passionate about, one should also consider the practicality of such pursuit. Indeed, picking a worth goal should be emphasized, though it is because of the consequences of blindly pursuing a goal instead of the selfish nature the goal.

Granted, some people are inherently selfish, but most people's dreams are not deleterious to the general public, and therefore, need not be worried about. In dreams, practicality is not a concern, especially for young people. If you were to ask a kid or a teenager what their dreams is, the ambitious ones will answer winning Noble prize, getting Turing award, becoming the CEO of a multinational company, while the humble ones will say something along the line of having a happy family or having a lots of friends. It can certainly be claimed that those dreams are inherently selfish. Winning grand prizes is for fame, becoming CEO is for financial rewards, and even friends and families are for personal happiness. However, even if the dreams are ultimately selfish, they have neutral, or even positive impact on the society. Therefore, the selfish nature of the dreams need not be a concern.

However, more emphasis do need to be placed on picking a worth goal because of most young people's disregard for practicality. Young people are inherently ambitious. They have just stepped into the society, and do not know their own limit. In their minds, they are capable of anything as long as they are willing to try. Therefore, they are extremely prone to picking unrealistic goals, or at least ignore the price they have to pay to achieve the goal. For example, a teenager may aspire to become a world-class pianist. It might be the teenager's dream. However, when the teenager picks his or her goal, he or she may not be considering the long practice hours that have to be put into achieving this goal, the possibility of failing, and what will he or she do afterwards. It is important to tell young people to consider the practicality of their dreams and will they be able to face the potential failure. More emphasis on picking worthy goals is needed, because young people tends to hold idealist views of the world and therefore ignore the impracticality of their goals.

In conclusion, young people need more caution on picking worthy goals when they are encourage to pursuit their dreams, but not because their dreams are inherently selfish, but because they need to take practicality into account. Even though many dreams are selfish, they are not harmful to the society, and as such need not be warned against. Instead, the practicality of goals is a major consideration, and therefore, emphasis on picking the right goal is needed.