The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The faculty committee's suggestion of offering professor's college-aged children free tuition at the university in order to retain current professors and to attract new one is well intended, but a few pieces of evidence is needed before this argument can be evaluated.

First, the faculty committee need evidence to show that there are enough parallels between Seatown University and Oceania University that the same policy will produce comparable results at the two universities. If the conditions are drastically different at the two universities, for example, if many professors at Oceania University have teenage children while most professors at Seatown University are senior, implementing the same policy at both universities may not provide the same results.

In addition to proving that the policy will provide the desired results, the committee should also demonstrate that the policy is practical. Information regarding the cost of implementing the policy and the current budget of the university will be helpful. If Seatown university is currently having financial difficulty and the cost of instituting the policy is too high, the university should not offer professor's children free tuition, contrary to the committee's argument.

Finally, even if the policy is practical and will have similar effects as it did at Oceania university, the committee still needs evidence showing such a policy is need. If the university already have a high faculty retention rate, and is attracting new professor, the university probably won't need a new policy to make teaching at the university more attractive. The committee will need data on the faculty retention rate and the number of new professors applying in the past few years to show this.

In conclusion, though the committee's argument that the university should implement the new policy to retain current faculty and attract new ones is aimed to improve the university, a few more pieces of evidence showing the similarity between Seatown and Oceania, the practicality of instituting the policy, and the necessity of instituting the policy, is needed to evaluate the validity of the argument.