The main reason we should study history is to ensure that we do not repeat the mistakes of the past.

People have long held history as a premium source for advice and instruction, as most present events have precedents in history, which means that we can learn from those past events to avoid future mistakes. People look at history so that they do not repeat their predecessor’s mistakes. Though it is true that history have certain advisory values, it should do not dictates what we do, as no two events are exactly the same, and we need to adapt to handle the present events appropriately.

Take the historical use of DDT and the application of nuclear power today for example. History does tend to repeat itself. When DDT was first synthesized in the laboratory, people where thrilled by its power as a pesticide, and rushed to apply it. It wasn’t till much later that people realized it negative impact on the environment, and the adverse effect was already widespread and irreversible. As for nuclear power, people first realized the power offered by nuclear physics during the second world war, and when the war ended, people saw nuclear power plants as a peaceful and beneficial way of harnessing this new-found power, and power plants are built. It wasn’t until the accident at Chernobyl that people truly realized the potential dangers those power plants posed. In both cases, people became overwhelmed by the bright prospects new technology promised, and overlooked their potential dangers. The two events are near mirror images of each other. Indeed, one could easily argue that had people remembered the problem with DDT, and thought more carefully before they built the nuclear power plants, the disasters would not have happened. History does have valuable lessons to offer, and could help prevent us from repeating past mistakes.

However, though history can show us the past mistakes and potentially help us avoid past mistakes, it is can not tell us what to do, as time is always changing, and no two events in history is exactly the same. Take another look at the example mentioned earlier, the use of DDT and the building of nuclear power plants. Would it have been better if people thought about the horrendous disaster that could results from accidents and did not build the power plants? Maybe not. The population was exploding, and energy was on short supply. If people had not build the nuclear power plants, some other energy source would have to be used. At that time all the other power source available are non-renewable, and have detrimental effects on the environment and the pollution would have negative impacts on all aspects of the society. In addition to this, there is also the cold war raging on. These conditions are very different from the condition under which the decision to use DDT is made, and thus simply treating nuclear power plants as a second DDT will be imprudent. The complexity of real world and the uniqueness of each even dictates that the past shall not be used as a guide to the present. History can help us, but can never tell us what to do.

In conclusion, history is a good source of useful advises, but because of the complexity of real world, it can never tell us exactly what to do. Therefore, people should not approach history hoping to use it as a guide to preventing repeated failure, but rather, use it to become wiser so that they can make better decisions themselves.