The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The idea that strong individual can emerge only through hardship has been well established and accepted. Indeed, similar sayings expressing this idea can be found in nearly all languages. However, this idea rises the question of whether the world we live in today, with all the modern convenience and comfort, is still capable of creating people with strong and independent personalities. The answer is a definite yes. Though technology advances have made living easier, life today is just as challenging as it used to be, thus, our current environment can still create powerful individuals, though it no longer forces everybody to be one.

Though it may appears that our lives is much simpler due to the advent of modern technology, life is just as full of adversity as it used to be. For every problem technology solves, it creates a new one. When wireless network and search engines were created, people suddenly gained access to nearly all the information in the world. They were no longer trouble by the limited amount of information they can access, nor do they need to remember everything they might need, budgeting the space available in their brain. Life seem to be simplified. However, this advancement also created new challenges. The tremendous amount of information available makes it difficult to find the useful information from all the other irrelevant once. Now, instead of learning to remember, people have to learn to shuffle through huge amount of data looking for useful ones efficiently. Life is not really simplified, it just becomes difficult in a different way. Today’s world is not devoid of obstacle, it is simply populated with ones we haven’t seen before.

As there are still sufficient adversities in our world, people can still develop strong, independent personalities, though all the modern convenience might give one the choice to not do so. For those who just want to past the time, life is undoubtedly easier. In past, people have to struggle just to survive, which in turn force them to become strong independent individuals; now, with the living condition largely improved, people can do nearly nothing and still get by. The hardship everyone have to go through in the past forces them to become strong independent individuals, will today’s society give people the choice to not become one. However, for those who wants to achieve something, there are still ample challenges available to help them develop a powerful personality. They will need to learn to budget their time, adapt to new environment quickly, and multitask. In modern society, people can still develop a strong character, thought they also have the choice to not to.

In conclusion, the world today is still populated with various challenges, though surviving is arguably getting easier. Consequently, our society is still capable of creating strong independent individuals, though it no longer forces everyone to become one, as the society in the past does.