The main reason we should study history is to ensure that we do not repeat the mistakes of the past.

Write a response in which you examine your own position on the statement. Explore the extent to which you either agree or disagree with it, and support your reasoning with evidence and/or examples. Be sure to reflect on ways in which the statement might or might not be true, and how this informs your thinking on the subject.

History is an important subject of discussion. It can enlighten us on so many realms, and while doing so, it can also reveal the circumstances that led to that particular situation. The prompt states that we should study history mainly to be wary of the mistakes committed in the past. While it is one aspect of the field, it is not the only reason for which we should indulge ourselves into it. So, I disagree with the given statement, and I shall be presenting a couple of points in favor of my judgement.

Firstly, everything we achieve as mankind is documented for future generations. These things might have a positive or negative effect on our surroundings. For example, recently, scientists have advanced greatly in the medical field and there are well-written records of the studies conducted by the scientists, records that in future will be a part of history. Using these historical documents, our future generations might be able to create some new and more effective cure for a particular disease. They might even usher a new avenue for research. So, there is nothing significant to learn from our mistakes in the bygone age. Moreover, studying such historical records might give them answer to problems they are facing. We, ourselves have studied history of medical science as it progressed though the ancient times and as a result have derived many cures that we use at present. History not only teaches us about our ancestors, it gives us identity.

By studying history, we can analyze a situation and act accordingly. Our forefathers might have faced similar situation and by following the steps taken by them, we can help ourselves out of the difficulty. For example, if on an island, after some natural calamity, the water level rises, then the people would be better prepared if they study their history. There could be historical data that suggests the signs of such natural calamity and how to evade it. So, studying history would certainly save thousands of life under such circumstances.

One would argue that the most valuable thing we learn from history is often contained in the mistakes of out predecessors. But as I have tried to make clear using examples and hypotheticals, it is not the case. Certainly there is a place to learn from mistakes while studying history, but in my opinion, it is not it's primary function.