The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the letter insists that we should invest our resources in unmanned space flights instead of manned space flights. He bases his conclusion on the recent success of unmanned space probes. Moreover, he says that manned space flights are costly and dangerous. His argument is based on some assumptions that need further analysis. I will be providing a couple of assumptions that the author has made in order to reach his conclusion.

Firstly, the author states that manned space flights are costly and dangerous. However, the author has not given any numbers that suggest so. He assumes that manned missions are costly while unmanned missions cost less money. Perhaps, he does not consider the amount of money required for the development of robots and machines that are used in unmanned space missions. The development of these tools and machines is a costly process. These cost several millions of dollars to make and it is not considering that fact that they work as intended. If, during testing, these machines fail, then they have to be developed from scratch which would require even more money. Moreover, a clone of each machine is made for testing purposes. This means that an unmanned mission costs the same as, if not more than, an manned mission. The author also assumes that manned missions are dangerous. While true, he should not neglect that unmanned missions are also precarious. Any technical failure in the robots could stop the whole mission. This has happened many times that a mission was aborted in it's first day because the machines involved ceased to work as soon as they reached their destination. So, unmanned missions are as dangerous as manned missions.

Furthermore, the author assumes that unmanned missions give us the same amount and quality of information that we get from manned missions. He cites the success of the recent unmanned space probes and satellites. While recent unmanned space probes and satellites have indeed given us a lot of information, it would be erroneous to assume that these data and information are of the same quality as would have been fetched by humans on board. For example, when humans stepped foot on the moon, they brought a noticeable amount of samples that is simply not possible to be brought by robots. Moreover, humans are trained to overcome any difficulty that they face in space. We can rely on their discretion. The same cannot be said about machines. We have to give them commands from Earth that takes significant amount of time to reach the machines which has been deleterious to various projects over the years.

In conclusion, the author's argument, as it stands now, is significantly weakened because of the various assumptions made by him. If the above mentioned assumptions prove to be unwarranted, then the conclusion reached by the author could have grave impact on the future space missions endeavored by mankind.