The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the editorial in a newspaper has reached a conclusion that the illegal immigrants must be returned to their country of origin in any way possible. He supports his argument by claiming that illegal immigrants pose threats to the economy and national identity of a nation. However, there are many assumptions that the author has based his conclusion on. Let us have a look at a couple of them and their implications if they prove unwarranted.

Firstly, the author says that the autonomy of a country is based on the strength of it's borders. But he fails to give any analytical proof that supports his claim. Autonomy of a country not only depends on the strength of it's border but also on it's governance. For example, if a nation is good at keeping illegal immigrants away but it's government cannot function properly, then how can it achieve autonomy. In this case, the weaknesses in the authors assumption are clear. His argument depends on the ability of a country to drive illegal immigrants away but what if there are no illegal immigrants and still the government flounders with it's tasks. It will hurt both it's economy and it's national identity. So, the author must evaluate this assumption first.

Moreover, the author asserts that illegal immigrants pose threat to the economy and national identity. But exactly how do these immigrants damage the economy and identity is unclear. The author assumes that the cause of the said problems are illegal immigrants. Furthermore, he goes on to say that they should be removed by any possible means. Suppose this process becomes too violent. This would place the nation in hot waters. The country would be infamous throughout the world for it's inimical treatment towards illegal immigrants. This could cause serious damage to the identity and economy. No other country would like to indulge in trade with such a country as they would fear of being associated with a blacklisted nation. This assumption, if proved true, could have very grave implications.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is significantly flawed because of it's reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. A couple of these assumptions along with their implications have been described in the above paragraphs. If the author is able to prove these assumption false, then his country can go on to remove illegal immigrants as they want but if these assumptions prove to be unwarranted, then it could be deleterious to the country's economy and identity.