The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis.

"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The planning department of Transopolis have reached a conclusion that, in order to revitalize the city, they would be making use of the declining residential for industrial purposes. Their conclusion is based on the result of a similar action they took ten years ago. However, there are some evidences that must be evaluated to warrant this action. Let us have a look at a couple of these evidences.

First and foremost, the planning department is talking about the renewal program that was carried out a decade ago. Passing of ten years brings about lots of changes with it. The results of this program, upon which the department based it's new renewal program, represent the city of Transopolis ten years in the past. It could be possible that the increased property tax revenues, decreased crime rate were ephemeral. What evidence has the author provided about these facts in the present time? What if in the past ten years, property tax, as a result of renewal plummeted and the crime rate soared? There is no evidence to refute this proposition. If my assumptions are true, then the new programs could change the city of Transopolis for worse.

Moreover, the author states that in the previous program, the city made adapted 'severely substandard' housing near freeway and in the new program, the department is planning to use 'declining residential area' in the opposite side of the city. If the department wants to do so, it must provide evidence that the two areas are, in fact, similar. 'Declining residential area' does not inspire much confidence in me. What if the buildings are on the verge of collapse? Then the department is putting the lives of many workers in jeopardy. The department must provide evidence that the buildings they are planning to re-use can be re-used. It should also answer that the area on the opposite side of the city is similar to the freeway. If the department is not able to provide the said evidences, then it is risking the lives of many workers. In addition, things will not go as planned because the two areas would be different from one another.

The argument, as it stands now, is significantly flawed. It's reliance on many warranted assumptions, as stated above, needs to be evaluated. If the department is able to provide evidences pointed out in the above paragraphs, then the department can go ahead with their desired plan but until then, they must refrain from the mentioned renewal.