The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director has decided to increase the marketing budget in order to reach more audience for he thinks that the public is not aware of his production company's films. he has reasoned that the review of his movies have become better than previous years but still fewer people attended his movies. I think that there are several unwarranted assumptions upon which the advertising director has based his conclusion. there are several questions, a couple of which I will be including in the coming paragraphs, that need to be answered in order to fully evaluate his recommendation.

Firstly, is the quality of every movie really good? In other words, does the quality of all of the movies meet the expectation of the public? The advertising director says that more percentage of reviewers have positively rated his 'specific' movies. this raises the question whether all of the movies are of good quality or not. The advertising director thinks that these specific movies represents all of the movies produced by his company. maybe some of the movies are good and these are the movies that the reviewers saw while other movies are not good. he does not talk about all of the movies. His mentioning of the word 'specific' suggests that, perhaps, many of his movies are not of good quality. Thus, the advertising director needs to answer the question regarding other movies. maybe the other movies are not good hence the people refused to watch Super Screen movie's produced movies.

Moreover, the advertising director does not mention by how much short was the present years attendance. The question that is needed to be asked here is how many people saw the movies in question this year and how many people saw these movies the previous year? The author does not mention any number. so, drawing any conclusion about decrease in the viewership would not be wise. To draw such analytical conclusion, one should be presented with numbers which are absent here. maybe the number of people who did not watch this production company's movies this year is not significantly less than the number of people who watched the movies in the previous year. The advertising director's argument depends on the assumption that there is drastic difference between the viewership in the previous year and the viewership this year. The author needs to answer this question so that the argument can be evaluated.

Finally, the author needs to answer whether the taste of the reviewers and the taste of public are alike. it maybe the case that the reviewers think that the movies are good but it does not reflect on the taste of public. perhaps the reviewers think that the movies are well produced in it's genre but the people want some other genre. this question needs to be answered.

In conclusion, the advertising director's argument, as it stands now, is significantly weakened by the above mentioned assumptions. If these assumptions prove to be unwarranted, then the author's recommendation is wrong. The advertising director needs to answer the above mentioned questions in order to fully evaluate his argument.