A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A teacher is not imperative for gaining knowledge. It is the thirst to learn about the unknown that drives us to learn something new. And if one is familiarized with a subject by someone else, then to have command on that subject is a daunting task. The prompt asserts that rejection of the familiar is important to achieve self-knowledge. I agree with this statement and to support it, I shall be providing a couple of examples.

Firstly, if a person is already familiar with something, then he or she might not put extra effort to get complete command over that subject. For example, while studying, a student familiar with a topic might skip it thinking that it is already known to him or her. But by skipping it, the student looses the opportunity to learn something new. If you are familiar with a subject, it does not mean that you know everything about it. Had the student rejected his familiarity with the subject, he would have gained some knowledge by himself, i.e, self-knowledge for he would have thought that the topic is new to him. Hence, it is evident by the example that by rejecting one's acquaintance with a subject, self-knowledge is, perhaps, the only way to get to know about that subject.

Moreover, familiarity with a subject gives us a false sense of confidence. We think that we already know a good deal about that subject so we need not bother ourselves with more knowledge. But if we d not know anything, we feel that we should acquaint ourselves with that subject and in that process, our interest grows, we start to learn more and at the end of the day, we amass a great deal of knowledge. Thus by giving up the knowledge that we have about a subject, we can emulate the latter feeling and the journey of self-knowledge thus begins.

Some might say that it is familiarity that kindles interest in us and drives us to learn more and more. While it is true, it is not always the case as I have tried to express in the above paragraphs. I am not refuting this claim, it is also true as is my proposition. In conclusion, I would like to say that by rejecting the familiar, we can instill in us the thirst to learn more that can only be quenched through self-knowledge.