The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with the honest assessment.

The author states that the real talent of a popular musician can only be accurately assessed if he or she is alive. If it is true then Michael Jackson would never have been crowned the tite of King of Pop in his lifetime,The Beetles would never have emassed such great following and many of the current generation musicians would have remained unknown.

Assessment of talent should not have to do anything with fame. A good talent does not need In his prime, Michael Jackson was revered and regarded as one of the greatest singer ever. He was and is still known as the king of pop. This is because people and critics liked his music. It was his talent that brought him fame and that fame did not interfere with honest assessment of his talent. Even after his death nothing mush has changed about how people look back at him.

When musicians are famous, they are treated as god. It seems that their reign would never end. But after some times after they fail to meet their expectations, even thugh they are famous, people start to think that the musicians talent has been lost. This would not have been true if his/her fame interfered with the honest assessment.

Like I said, assessment should not need generations, it should see whether the musician is able to deliver more than what the people want. When a musician dies, then people do tend to look on the dark side but in the long run their perceptions remain as they were intially.