A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A nation, in order to develop in every aspect, should be able to produce individuals who are proficient in the fields in which they work. By mandating every student to study the same curriculum, a nation would be devoiding the young minds of the different areas of study out in the world. To refute the given proposition, allow me to use some hypotheses in the forthcoming paragraphs.

Nascent mind is the most vulnerable thing and if used correctly can be advantageous to the entire world. And if we do not manifest the potential areas of interest in the developing minds of perhaps the next Stephanie Hawking, Steve Jobs or David Attenborough, it could not only be deleterious to the development of country in question but also to the interest of the world. Keep in mind that the people I mentioned earlier belong to disparate professions and if a student is not exposed to the various curriculum, then how could he/she be able to discover the field of study in which their interest is the greatest and perhaps could do something unprecedented.

Along with numerous areas of interests, we would be depriving the children of their comfortable rate of study. If we are subjecting them to the same curriculum, then it would not be unreasonable to assume that their studying conditions would also be identical or at least similar. This would do disservice to everyone as the results of countless studies around the world are in coherence with each other that every child has different learning pattern and style of study. So, the same curriculum would not only be harmful for their future profession but also detrimental to their health in the long run.

Every individual is unique and should be entitled to flourish in the area that he/she is most inclined towards. One child may have penchant for academics while other may have more fondness for sports. Almost everyone would agree that for the betterment of a nation, producing good sportsmen is as imperative as producing good scholars. And for achieving so, relying on merely one curriculum would be impetuous. Hence, in my opinion, the given proposition needs some improvement.