The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In contemporary world, there is competition everywhere. There is competition in jobs, government, industries etc. So, one would assume that to become an exemplar or a good leader, an individual should imbibe a sense of competition, but in my opinion, it cannot be further from the truth. I propose that cooperation is as important, if not more important, than competition, hence I agree with the prompt. I shall present my case with the help of a couple of examples.

Firstly, a sense of cooperation is the most important quality that a person can possess in contemporary world to be a leader. In other words, it is very difficult to be at the summit in a competitive society such as ours alone, without any help from others working in the same field. For example, if a company manufactures smartphones, then it is imperative that it cooperates with the other companies in the smartphone market as it is beneficial for all of them. Apple and Samsung are known to be one of the most fierce competitors in this field, both of them are the juggernauts of the industry but they cannot exist without the help of each other. Apple relies on Samsung for manufacturing it's essential parts while most of Samsung's revenue comes from Apple. Imagine if they did not cooperate with each other-- would they thrive in such a dynamic market segment? Would they be the leaders that they are? It would have been very difficult for them to do so without cooperation. Hence, cooperation is more essential than competition.

Furthermore, cooperation instills in people a sense of leadership that competition simply cannot. While an individual cooperates with someone, he or she gets to gather much more knowledge than he or she would have amassed otherwise. If, for example, within a company, there is competition among it's workers, then it is almost guaranteed that no leader will emerge from them. But if a person works with others, without any competition, then he or she gets to learn new skills, the person can imbibe more knowledge about the work he or she is doing and about the environment that he or she is working in. All of these information forms the basis of the qualities that make a good leader. Hence, without a sense of competition, the qualities that make a good leader are very difficult to impart into a person.

Some people say that a leader who can compete is required in today's world and a leader who cannot compete will not be able to grow. But I have established in the above examples that competition is not always good. There are some cases where cooperation plays a vital role in developing a person's character and his or her leadership qualities. To conclude, in contemporary world, if you want to lead, then cooperation is the best way.