Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is a common belief that competition and learning go hand in hand, that is, they co-exist. The prompt suggests that when there is competition for high grades, irrespective of the level of education, then it has an adverse effect on the quality of learning. I agree with this statement and I shall be advocating this with the help of a couple of examples.

Firstly, one can easily observe that when there is competition for getting the highest grades among the students, their anxiety increases and they become desperate to score as much as they can. When competing to get the highest marks, for instance, the students tend to skip the portion of the syllabus which would fetch them less marks and focus more on the portion carrying more marks. This significantly affects their quality of learning. It can also be observed that when nervous, students tend to make more, perhaps, asinine mistakes. Mistakes that they would not have made otherwise. Thus, this example elucidates that competition degrades learning quality.

Moreover, when there is no fear or anticipation of competition, the students become better learner. This is evident from the fact that whatever we learn on our own, i.e., the things that interests us and we look them up on, say, the internet or in some books just to satisfy our thirst for information, stays in our head for much longer. Countless studies have reached the same conclusion that in environment where there is no competition for marks, every student performs much better than in environment where there is competition among children. For example, in countries like Finland where students do not appear in any kind of exams until very late in their schooling life, thus echoing the reasoning of the prompt, students fare much better. The average students in those countries are more intelligent than the average students who continuously face competition. This suggests that their quality of learning is much better.

Some may argue that strong competition instills in students the urge to study harder, with much more diligence than they ever would have. Some would even point out that some students study just because they want to be ahead. But, from the above examples, it is clear that competition for higher grades does not do good to every student. Yes, some students may study hard to get good grades, but those who cannot get good grades and are eventually teased by their peers for their poor marks get discouraged in the long run. Hence, I stand by the fact that competition for getting good marks is deleterious to quality of learning.