The main reason we should study history is to ensure that we do not repeat the mistakes of the past.

Write a response in which you examine your own position on the statement. Explore the extent to which you either agree or disagree with it, and support your reasoning with evidence and/or examples. Be sure to reflect on ways in which the statement might or might not be true, and how this informs your thinking on the subject.

History is a subject that can be described as an ensemble of both good events and unfortunate events. It is up to the reader to construe the lines written in any subject, not only in history, and equate it to the contemporary time. History teaches us lessons pertaining to both the good deeds carried out by man and the evil atrocities committed in the name of benevolence. It is up to the readers to choose which side is better suited for them. One can, for instance, learn the great preaching of lord buddha and follow on his trails to become a great helper and preacher, and one can also take up the leadership qualities demonstrated by Mahatma Gandhiduring the British Raj in India. Based on these arguments my take on the prompt is that history not only teaches us about the mistakes of man in the past but also the greatness that once prevailed on the turf of the Earth.

As stated, one can learn a great deal about the erudition of some of the great people who once roamed the Earth and consequently become the next erudite person. If one learns, for example, about the preaching of lord buddha and imbibes those ideas in real life then that would impact the lives of the other people in a very optimistic way. No one is perfect, so one can also learn about the mistakes made by him so as not repeat them, albeit looking at his positive deeds would do a lot better to serve the world. As can be interpreted from the example, looking at the positive side of things goes on to be more salubrious than looking at the other side.

Furthermore, people can also learn about the leadership qualities portrayed by Mahatma Gandhi during the colonial rule in india. If a truculent person studies about Gandhi's non violent victory on an entire empire, the British empire nonetheless, he can bring about a raft of changes in his attitude and behavior toward his co-workers. This positive change will help him in having a good working relation with his peers and thus make him appreciate the work of his co-workers even more. This instance provides us with the evidence that a lot of good and positive things can be learnt from history.

Of course, history does teach us about the misdeeds of humans but it tells of the better side of the people a lot more than their dark side. So to say that one should learn history only to eschew the mistakes made by mankind is misleading in various aspects and thus my repudiation of the prompt's suggestion holds more credence.