The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

The author of the letter has suggested on not going forward with constructing the road. The author's suggestion arrives from the conclusion that is not supported by enough evidence. So a closer look is worthwhile. According to me, the conclusion is erroneous in various respects and so I disagree with the author. Let us have a look into some of the reasons why the author is misled.

Firstly, the local development interests are lobbying for the council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of the wetlands. There is no mention of disturbing the main area of the sanctuary. So the authors assumption that this road will disturb the wildlife in the sanctuary is incorrect. Inversely, the road will only serve to attract more people to visit the sanctuary which will increase its revenue and thus more money can be generated to improve the condition of the wildlife and the sanctuary itself.

Secondly, the development is not expected to repeal the sanctuary status of the wetlands which is what happened with the neighbouring Eastern Carpenteria. Since its sanctuary status is not in any danger, the author is incorrect in thinking that its fate will be similar to the latter. It is also not clear what caused the decline in the population of the sea otter in Eastern Carpenteria. This decline could be the result of anything. Since no direct relation between the repeal of the sanctuary status and the decline in the population of the wildlife is stated it would be wrong to assume that the repeal was the reason for the declivity on the population chart of the sea otter.

So, it can be seen that the author assumes some points which are inaccurate and based on these assumptions suggested not to construct the road. Since the assumptions are baseless the council should move on with the construction of the road.