The best way to teach—whether as an educator, employer, or parent—is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

How to educate has been a topic long discussed and argued about. Some people claim it is best to teach by praising the positive actions and ignoring the negative ones, however, the criticism and even moderate punishment are actually an important and integral part of education. People may not realize the detrimental effects and serious consequences of their actions if they goes unpunished repeatedly. Admittedly, however, there may be harmful effects to implementing punishments.

Criticizing negative behaviors are sometimes necessary for impressing on others the negative effects their actions have, and importance of changing them. For example, if a teenager misses his or her curfew multiple times, and each times his or her parents say nothing about it, the teenager probably won’t realize the detrimental effects of the action. Instead of realizing that the curfew is implemented for their own safety, the teenager may think of it as triviality, and that missing it will cause not harm. Criticism, far from impeding the learning process, can help demonstrate the harmful effects of the action and importance of the issue. By ignoring the negative action, the missing of curfew in the example, the parents failed to impress on their kid the importance of the issue at hand. Though ignoring the problem may seem attractive, it is actually counterproductive.

In addition, criticism and reasonable amount of punishment can lead people to realize the serious consequences of their actions. When educators simply ignore the harmful behaviors, the potential consequence of such behavior is omitted, and the one to be educated may not realize that their actions have consequences. Say for example, when a teacher found one of her students cheating on his or her homework, and instead of talking to the student and handing out appropriate punishment, the teacher simply let that slip. By doing so, the teacher is telling the student that cheating have on consequences. Therefore, the student may go on cheating, committing plagiarism, and even felonies in the future. It is important in education to impress on people that their actions can have serious consequences by pointing out and even punishing negative behaviors.

Despite all the positive effects criticizing and punishing negative behaviors can have, there are certain side-effects, such as the fear such treatment can cause in young kids, which in turn will impedes learning. However, such negative emotions results mostly from excessive criticism and punishments, and can be minimized by applying criticism and punishment appropriately together with praise and rewards.

In conclusion, criticizing and appropriately punishing negative behavior is a superior method of educating than simply ignoring them. Doing so will impress on the students the detrimental effects and possible consequences of their action. Though admittedly there are negative effects to criticism and punishment, those effects can be minimized.