Claim: Major policy decisions should always be left to politicians and other government experts.

Reason: Politicians and other government experts are more informed and thus have better judgment and perspective than do members of the general public.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

While it is true that politicians and government official understand policy makings much better than most of the citizens, they do not necessarily know the demands of the people, which is an important consideration in decisions. Therefore, the best solutions would be to involve citizens as well as officials in decision making.

The population need to be involved in decision making processes because they are directly affected by the policies, and the politician may not understand their perspectives. For example, a politician who drives to work every day will not understand why citizens who commute by bicycles need bicycle lanes. Because politicians live differently from many citizens, they may no understand the needs of the public. By leaving decision makings exclusively to the politicians and experts, we are ignoring the opinion of those who are most directly affected by the decision, and the decision will most likely not solve the problem it addresses. Input from citizens are needed if the government wants to make an informed decision that address the problem.

However, politicians and experts have to participate in the decision as well, as citizens probably don not understand the system very well, and may make unpractical proposals. The society we live in is very complicated one, where everything is intertwined together. Change made to one aspect will influence may others. A citizen who is not familiar with the way the society functions may make a decision out of good will only to have it backfire. For example, the citizens may propose to build more affordable housing, but he or she most likely don’t know this simple action will affect the housing market, the job market, the tax rate, etc. Policy making is a hard, complicated process, which needs the expertise of politician and government officials. Though politicians and officials do not represents the population the policy is aimed at, they are needed to assess the practicality of the proposal made by citizens.

In conclusion, decisions should be made with input from both the citizens and the politician. The policies are made to address problems faced by the citizens, and without understanding their perspectives, no problems can be solves. The politicians are need because they are ones who best understand how the policy will affect the society, and they need to make sure the decisions made are practical.