An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The international development organization's attempt to help combat vitamin A deficiency is very well intended and promising, however, a few questions need to answered before the validity of the recommendation that the government of Tagus should promote the new type of millet high in vitamin A can be accessed.

First, the organization need to consider whether the government subsidies for growing the new type of millet will offset the high cost of the seeds. If subsidies can not offset the cost of seeds, farmer may choose not to the grow the new type of millet hight in vitamin A. Even if they do choose to grow the new type of millet, the high cost of seeds will inevitably bring up the market price of the millet. In both cases, the millet high in vitamin A will be unaccessible to the already impoverished people, and therefore, the recommendation will not be able to the achieve the intended effect of combating vitamin A deficiency.

Second, the organization should ask if introducing a new strain of millet high in vitamin A is most efficient way of combating vitamin A deficiency. Perhaps there is a cheaper, more effective way of solving this problem, like distributing free vitamin A supplements. If there is a better way of providing the people of Tagus the vitamin A they needed, then the government should consider the alternative solution instead of promoting the new strain.

Finally, even if the new type of millet is the best way of providing vitamin A to the people of Tagus, the organization still need to consider if vitamin A deficiency is the most urgent concern for the people of Tagus. For example, if most people in Tagus is still facing hunger, then the government probably should focus on combating hunger instead of vitamin A deficiency. In this case adopting the organization's suggestion of promoting a new strain of millet high in vitamin A will not only not provide the expected result since most people will not access to the millet, but also worse the issue of hunger since funds for combating hunger was diverted.

Though the recommendation is aimed to help the people of Tagus gain more vitamin A, the questions listed above need to be answered before the results of the recommendation can be reliably predicted.