Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

There are no lack of stories of scientists bringing the world to the edge of destruction with their unregulated researches, accidental or intentional, staring with the archetype, Frankenstein. All those stories have left the world is afraid of what scientists may create in their laboratories if their research efforts are not closely watched. However, I believe there should be few regulations placed on scientific researches, though they do need to be regulated.

Despite all the horrifying stories about the mad scientists, researches are actually not that dangerous. Artists tend to portray scientists as having no regards for things other than their own investigations because that is the easiest to create a good story, instead of because that is the way most researchers are. In fact, most, if not all scientists have reasonable moral standards, and will not continue on with their research if they are concerned with the possible disaster their research will bring. Even if one of the researcher overlooked or intentionally neglected the impending danger, his or her colleagues will be able to remind or stop the researcher, as most researches today involve groups of scientist instead of individuals. Considering these facts, the academia actually have a self-regulating system that will help prevent malicious researches from happening, thus researches are not as dangerous as some populations may think.

In addition, strict government regulations placed on certain research fields for security and morality concerns are actually impeding useful researches. One example is the restrictions placed on stem cell researches. In fear of labs cloning human and thus brings about identity problems and morality problems, the government stricter controlled stem cell researches. Though this is done with good intend, the regulations, as a side effect, also slow down the researches on the use of stem cell for medical purpose, such as the cultivation of organs from stem cells. Consequently, the technologies that could have saved thousands of people are not going to be available for sometime because of the regulation. As this example has shown, regulations intended to avoid disasters can some times have detrimental side effects, as they will slow down the beneficial researches as well as the harmful ones.

Granted, regulations are still needed despite their many drawbacks. They exists not only to detect and avoid the potentially harmful researches from happening, but also to assure people. The public can sleep better at night knowing there won’t be monsters or mass-destructive weapons coming out of the laboratories. Regulations are need, but they shouldn’t be so strict as to make any beneficial researches impossible.

In conclusion, I think there should be few restrictions placed on scientific researches as doing will slow down beneficial researches as well malicious one and that the science community do have certain management system themselves. However, research should still be regulated, not only to prevent disasters, but also to assure the public.