The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

People have long hold the position that easy lives spoils people, and that only through adversity and hardship can great people emerges. Indeed, there seems to be sayings expressing similar ideas in nearly all languages. If it is true that challenges are necessary for the forming of a powerful personality, our contemporary world, with all its modern convenience, does seem like a bad place for strong independent individuals. However, convenience is nothing more than a veneer: there are more than sufficient challenges in our world. The modern world may be a easier place for people to choose not to become a strong individual, but is as good a place as any to form strong characters.

Though our world is brimmed with convenience, it does not lack hardship. With the advance of technology, living is getting easier and easier. With the advent of wifi and search engines, we no longer need to remember all the information we need; with the advent of cars, we don’t have to learn to ride a horse anymore; with the invention of additive manufacturing, we can avoid the pain of learning to use all complex and bulky the lathing, milling and drilling machines. As technology takes care of our daily chore, surviving is undoubtedly getting easier. However, our lives are just as challenging as ever. With the rapid development of technology, people need to adapt faster than ever to avoid getting swept away; with accumulation of knowledge, the ability to identify important information from a pool of irrelevance is becoming essential; with the ever quickening pace of life, our minds have to process information at a rate never seen before. Surviving is getting easier, but living is just becoming challenging in a different way.

Surrounded by the novel adversities, people can choose whether or not to becoming a powerful character by facing all the adversities. For those who choose to face the adversities, life is as full of obstacles as for those who lived decades or centuries before them, albeit different ones. People have to learn to plan for their future and budget their time, to adapt to a fast-changing society, and to persevere through all the adversities. As for those who choose not to, life will be much easier than for those who came before, with the void of challenges created by modern convenience. Admittedly, our world no longer forces everybody to develop a strong individual, but if anyone aspire to achieve, our world is just as full of challenges and inductive to development of strong characters as any that have come before.

To conclude, all the convenience and luxuries of modern lives does make surviving easier, but to achieve anything, individuals still have to conquer numerous obstacle as generations of people have done before. In the modern society, people are no longer forced to become strong independent individual, instead, they have a choice. All the conveniences do not prevent people from developing strong characters, they simply give people the option to not develop one.