A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until the enter college. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Whether a nation should have all of its students to take the same curriculum during the beginning of their education and for how long has been a topic long discussed. Doing so have its own benefits and drawbacks. Requiring all the students to take the same curriculum can certainly simplify the education system and make the administration of standardized test easier. However, such an approach would necessarily hinder the development of unique talents. In my opinion, education should have standardized portion, but a nation should also strive to provide its students with personalized education if it has the resources.

That a student would benefit from curriculum tailored to his or she personal demands is unreputable. Since every child is unique, every child will have a different curriculum that best suit his or her need. For example, a student who shows strong interest and talent in drawing would benefit from more advanced art class instead of math or biology. On the other hand, a student who is good at designing and three dimensional visalization should be encourage to spend time tinkering instead of being forced to do literature analysis. When class are tailored to a student's interest and gift, the student would have a better chance of realizing his or her full potential; if standard curriculum is enforced, the student's time and energy will be unwisely used, and the student's chance of future success will be considerably diminished. It is in the student's and the society's best interest to have nonstandard curriculum.

However, there are also certain drawbacks to providing students with personalized education. The first thing is complexity. In order to provide students with curriculum that best fit their needs, every student's interest and talents have to be carefully analyzed, their schedule planned, and the right instructors will have to be invited. This is considerable amount of effort. In addtion to making the operation of institutes considerably more arduous, the personalized education will also bring trouble to the standardized tests. Because students could be taking wildly different classes, creating a standardized test to evaluate the merits of students will be much harder. Granted, the standardized test should focus on a student's ability instead of their knowledge, but it nontheless need to assume a shared knowledge base to create problems everyone could understand. As beneficial as personalized education are, it would bring about a lot of complexity.

As shown in the previous two paragraphs, personalized education have both benefits and drawback. Balancing the benefits of personalized class and the complexity it brings is difficult, and the best solution will inevitably varies from case to case. in my opinion, a nation should strive to provide its students with personalized education when it have the power to do so, but it would also need to enforce certain standardized curriculum so that it could create standardized test that is so import to the admission process. If a country is having problem providing its population electricity, then it is probably a bad idea to spend it resource on providing tailored curriculum. But it nation do have the resource to provide tailor education, than the nation should do so.