Some people claim that a nation's government should preserve its wilderness areas in their natural state. Others argue that these areas should be developed for potential economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The conservation of wilderness areas has been a topic much debated in recent years. The cost of preservation and potential economical gain from developing the area has been the key factors impeding such conservation efforts. However, in the most cases, the educational, research, and even potential economic value of nature reserves can offset the obvious economic losses.

First, the wilderness areas can act as nature habitats for many endangered species, which, in turn, have great research values. One of the most eminent goals of establishing nature reserves is to protect endangered species. Though the value of protecting animal and plant diversity may not be obvious at first glance, it has been shown repeatedly to be decisive in many research efforts that benefits the entire society, as diversity provide scientist with the pool of raw material to study. Just a few years ago, scientist found a potential cure for cancer from from the bark of a endangered tree, Taxus chinensis, that is only found in a few natural reserves. Had that few nature reserved been developed for economic gains and the tree driven to extinction, the cure may not have been found. Because the diversity that wilderness area strive to protect is crucial to many researches, government should try to keep its wilderness area in its natural state.

In addition to research value, natural reserves also have high educational values. Natural reserves provide the public with a chance to see animals in their natural habitats and to experience the power of nature. This kind of experience can not be replaced by a visit to the zoo, looking at photographs, or reading about the nature in textbooks. The natural reserves are a crucial part of education for kids and adults alike can learn things unavailable elsewhere by visiting the wilderness area. This educational value should justify government’s efforts to preserve wilderness areas.

Admittedly, there are times when preserving wilderness areas in their natural states are simply unreasonable. For example, when a nation’s people are starving and struggling on the poverty line, the wilderness area could be bettered served the nation better if it is developed and used for crop production, compared to protected to its research and education value. The decision of preserving the wilderness may not be the best course of action in all cases.

In conclusion, the decision of whether to preserve or to develop a wilderness area should be made holistically and based on the country’s condition. Granted, there are certain cases where the best course of action is to develop the wilderness rather than preserve it, in most cases, the research and education value of keeping the wilderness in its natural state outweigh the potential economic gain of developing the wilderness.