People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It has long been accepted that decision making should be based on logic instead of emotion. Nevertheless, making decisions based purely on logic is nearly impossible. Therefore, from time to time, we have all been guilty of allowing sentiments to bias our thinking. After awards, some people admit the fact that the decision they made are tinted with sentiment, will others choose to justify their bad decision. Those who justify their emotion based decisions are poor decision maker, not only because they make decisions irrationally, but also because they refuse to learn from past mistakes.

Decision should be make using rational thinking instead of sentiments. Decisions are what affects our future paths, and allowing emotions to bias decisions are simply unreasonable. For example, when deciding whether to accept a favorable job offer, if a person choose not to because he or she had a argument with his or her family last week about her frequent job changes, and as such don not want to give his or her family the chance to criticize him or her, the person is making decision base on emotion rather than reasons. In doing so, the person is giving up an opportunity he or she may never have again in the future. This example shows that allowing sentiments to bias us decision making is deleterious to our lives. Therefore, those who make decisions based on emotion are poor decision maker.

In addition to making decisions base on sentiments, those who justifies those bad decision afterwards using logic are poor decision makers because they refuse to face their mistakes and learn from them. When people try to justify their poor decisions in retrospective, they are basically refusing face mistake. Only by admitting the fact that we erred can we learn from past mistake and improve in the future. Those who justify decisions based on emotions with logic are trying to convincing themselves that what they did are right, so that they can continue on making the same mistake in the future. Even worse, the fact that they try to justify the decision using logic means that they know logic is what decisions should be based on. They are trying to trick themselves. They know how to make to decisions, but they refuse to do so. Making decisions based on emotion and then justify the decisions using logic is a horrendous way of making decision.

In conclusion, people who make decisions base on sentiment and then justify them with rational thinking are poor decision maker because in addition to biased decisions, they also refuse to face the fact they are making biased decision, making it impossible for them to become better decision makers in the future.