Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

One of the major aspects in the development of a society is the effective use of resources and information at its disposal. There has been concrete evidence since the early human civilizations, that good governance can’t be achieved without a perusal of resources available on the table. Most of the countries around the world are known by the cities and the metropolitans they inhabit. I partially agree with the above statement pertaining to three core reasons.

Proper planning is often espoused with the proper discharge of functions by various levels in a city’s administration. Major cities are not only a source of income for their present dwellers but also act as the daily bread provider to families who migrate to big townships and localities with the better proposes of education, jobs, and family welfare. So there is an unending requirement of proper infrastructure to accommodate the growing populations of major cities. For instance, Countries like India house metro cities like Mumbai who witnessed a surge of population in measures of thousands every day. This indicates the constant flow of cash and other monetary benefits, so as to keep the city running and maintain a solid booming economy for the region. This makes the development of roads, highway, residential zones a must for its people to thrive and earn money which indirectly benefits the whole country. If we speak about this in naivety, the taxes and the various surcharges were taken by the governments is being returned of back in the form of investment in the public sector and the institutions that are cardinal in maintaining the socio-economic harmony.

There have been various case studies of municipal corporations and money-mongering establishments that ransack money from their people and turn a blind eye on the various issues existing in large cities, since a long period of time. Such avaricious practices often result in the administration being overthrown by the people themselves in the upcoming municipal elections. To ameliorate the various mishaps and malpractices of the administration, various projects are hastily completed before elections to satiate the electoral vote in the favor of the ruling party. This makes the money invested or allotted by the government not only superfluous but also makes the citizens prone to various insecure projects that might have been developed with the upcoming elections in mind. So, in such scenarios, the money allotted for the proper distribution among various infrastructure goes down the drain due to lack of willpower and planning by the local administration. Thus the government should always be vigilant of studying the usage of the funds allotted and conduct a proper, unbiased investigation in case of any misconduct. Allotting money and being ignorant about its consumption won’t be fruitful to governments that expect on-ground developments.

There is a common psychological phenomenon that “when a man works for the benefits of a section, the section looks up to him and supports him for continuing the good work, irrespective of its future ramifications in mind.” The same phenomena are applicable to the government or the ruling party in power. Countries like the ones in the Middle East, India, Bangladesh have a significant amount of illiterate population. These people are always prone to succumb under the preview of false developments promises made by the people in power to regain power after their term terminates. Now with the ever-growing technology, people have been more educated into seeing what actually the governments has done, or plans to do with the help of news and various other “information baskets”. So the government needs to ensure that the people of major cities witness the development and praise the ruling party so as to reelect them into power in the upcoming elections. Once the notion of fake promises is established in the minds of the local population, there is no stopping of bringing down the government and granting power to people who are able to maintain the fundamentals of democracy.

In all, to conclude, there has been proper communication between the ruling government and the local administrations to ensure that there is effective consumption of money for development of infrastructure and for the satisfaction of the citizens of major cities.