Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Over the years value of cultural traditions is degrading in almost every country, city or community. The claim attempts to argue that the financial support should be provided to the major cities to succeed and the reason attempts to prove the claim by concluding that in cities, the cultural traditions are preserved and generated. However, I mostly disagree with this claim that it is the government who ensure the financial support for major cities.

To begin, just receiving financial support is not adequate for city to be successful. Further, it may be difficult for government to understand the amount of money the city needs. It is almost impossible to estimate the exact figure of amount for any particular city. For example, there are multiple things - like roads, bridges, public transportation, etc - where cities need money for its development. In addition, it can be arduous for government to distribute funds among various cities. Moreover, the funds is not only distributed among cities, it is also distributed among the rural areas.

Furthermore, the culture and traditions are not only preserved in cities. However, instead, they are more preserved across the rural areas than cities. It is the rural areas or village areas where the cultural traditions are begin valued and even performed. For example, the urban people are more concern with their fashionable and luxurious lifestyles defying the cultural traditions. In addition, villagers live a simple austere life by maintain their tradition. Thus, instead of supporting cities, the rural areas must be financially support to enhanced their development.

Admittedly, it is the major cities which have huge impact on the national economy and due to this more and more people are shifting to cities to make a way of living better. For example, it is difficult in village area to receive network, whereas in cities network is ubiquitous. In addition, there are amply amount of work opportunities in major cities, whereas it is extremely difficult to have a job while living in village. Thus, the people are moving to cities and hence the culture too because culture is present where people are present.

To conclude, government only ensuring financial support for major cities would be discrimination for the people living outside the cities. Additionally, majority of culture is preserved in the safe hands of rural people. But I do admit that it is also cities which define the overall nation’s culture.