Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

In asserting that governments must ensure major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive is refer to author's parochial and is a kind of discrimination among small towns and big cities. But sometimes it can be true for instance when you talk about England the first thing comes in our mind is London or when we talk about Japan the firs thing appears in our mind is Tokyo, so these cities are famous in a country and should receive financial support but not more than other cities or even ignoring other cities in a country. It is proved that traditions are generated and preserved by small towns and villages and because of big cities throng and many people from different areas in a country come to major cities, one unique culture doesn't exist and a mixture of different cultures is visible. So it can be concluded that big cities have a mixture of many traditions.

Since all the people who live in a country, whether in big cities or small towns, have an equal rights for receiving financial support so that, the government should allocate equal financial support to all of the cities equally. More population in big cities with more problems forced government to consider more facilities for them beside paying attention to small cities.

A curios government who is for it's progresses start financial support from small towns and villages cause first traditions are originated there.

Nevertheless, I'm not totally agree with the author statement. Admittedly, major cities need more hospitals,universities, transport, shopping mall, wide street so that the government should allocate financial support to these cities more than small cities. As you know small towns and villages have less population and people's' expectation' level is less than big cities but most of the villagers are farmer and they need more attention from the government to export better nutrition food to the major cities.

Since it is unable to familiar most of the cities in a country, so major cities are the best cases for showing the characteristic of a country or society. Hence government must ensure that their major cities are under financial aid to have more.

Government should consider that all people in a country can not immigrate to major cities for thrive and they are in villages or smaller cities so it should consider financial aid to them and prepare for them more facilities that obscured them to immigrate to major cities.