Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based

The claim that governments must ensure fundings to major cities in order to thrive because, cities are where the nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated seems quiet reasonable. I agree that cities play major role in nation's cultural scenario.

If we take a dig into history we have plenty of examples where cities were the centre of traditional and cultural revolutions. Take a example of Paris. Paris is well known all over the world for its fashion scenario. Many popular fashion designers launch their new designer products in Paris. Why do they choose Paris? Because, since ages Paris has evolved the culture of fashion and that is the main reason it has the importance in fashion industry. What effect did it have on whole France as a nation?Well we recognize French people as fashion conscious and they have wide variety of taste when it comes to fashion.

So, as above exaample shows what effect a city can have on a country, we can say that its governments responsibilty that they maintain the infrastrucutre and economics of the city by giving it the finacial support it deserves.

Another example we can look into here is of Los Angeles.What does come to your mind when you hear the word Los Angeles? Well, most of the people will come up with the answer Hollywood. Los Angeles has created its own culture. And ultimately it reflects the culture of United States through movies. Another good example would be the city of Kyoto in Japan. With many temples and monesteries, it reflects the culture and history of Japan and its people.

Eventhough some traditions and cultural traits may be having their roots in remote part of the country,its cities who play a bigger role in giving wide spread recognition to those traditions and cultural traits. Cities have always been considered as financial centers, but they play major role in defining a nation's culture.

In the end, if a nation wants to showcase its culture and traditions to the world it needs to highlight its cities. Cities are like facade of a beatiful building which has many more architectural innovations inside it.