Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

While studying about subjects which are not of our interest may give us different perspective to look around and may give us a chance to explore unchartered territory but, I think instead of spending time and energy on things which doesn't make us happy we should focus on things in which we have much more possibility to achieve something.

Educational institutions provide array of courses. Students decide their field of study by looking at their previous academic records and interests. Universities provide academic consoulers who help students to choose their field of interest. However, it may happen that after choosing a perticular field, the student may find it difficult to achieve what was expected. In most of the cases students fail to recognize this fact. So, at this point its proffesors who should come out to help the student. Because, proffesors know the perticular student more than anyone else. They should help the student to decide what are his areas of interest and what are the areas where he lacks.

Most of the educational institutions do not take the responsibility of their students failure. A failure may come because the student's areas of interest may be different than the course he is taking. So, university should deter him from continuing that course. A further analysis about his areas of interest should be done and accordingly that student should be enrolled in another course where he has greater chance to succeed.

Many legendry entrepreneurs such as Bill Gates, Steve Jobs are college dropouts. Had they continued their education and not followed their passion , we would be without Windows Computers,iPhones,iPads and loads of other things these guys innovated. What matters is whether you are following your passion or not. As someone has said 'Stay hungry stay foolish'.It means learn from your heart and learn things which makes you happy. Their is no point in doing an MBA if your passion is playing Baseball. One should concentrate on his fields of interest rather than on getting the degree for the sake of society.

Educational institutions should come up with a solution where it becomes easy for students to study only their areas of interest. In the end educational institutions are backbones of our society and make a huge contribution towards society. So, it is imperative for these institutes to shape people in fields where they can contribute more and more.