Claim: Group assignments that student must work together to complete should replace a substantial amount of traditional lecture-based instruction in college and university course.

Reason: It is vital for students to gain experience collaborating with peers to study a topic and to achieve common goal.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based

Some people argue that studying in group assignment where students must cooperate to complete should substitute for the majority of traditional lecture-based instruction in college and university course, since gaining experience collaborating with peers to study a topic and purse the common goal play a significant role in students’ development. In my perspective, though the collaboration is important and essential, it cannot take over from the position of lectured-based instruction. I will provide my reasons in the following paragraph.

To begin with, students need fundamental theory to accomplish their purpose. Students need necessary knowledge to discover and explore the group assignment. For example, students in group want to build a machine learning model, like face recognition system, they need equip themselves with the knowledge with linear algebra, calculus, probability and some programming language, like python or R language. It’s true that their are some mature model in the Internet and students can just copy and paste to finish the project, but students can only learn a little from this group assignment. Lecture-base instruction is essential to develop students’ personal knowledge fields, is like teaching students how to build ship and how to manipulate the ship before they can explore the knowledge of sea.

Moreover, lecture-based instruction taught by experienced professors in college is the most reliable and quickest way to acquire knowledge and expand the horizon. Teacher with yeas of experience of teaching the same topics are familiar with the questions confusing the most students, and he or she can point out the imperative things that must acquire to master this topic. Even though there are many resources in the Internet to learn knowledge, like Coursera, Edx, MIT opencourseware and so on, listening and interacting with instructors in the class is the most efficient way to begin and master the new subjects.

Finally, focusing only one group assignment may cause vicious completion. Since the group assignment is the only method to justify whether the students is brilliant or not, some students may cheat and plagiarize the peers’ project. Students in the same group may argue about the contribution that attribute int the project, which just the opposite to what the group assignment wish, cooperation.

In conclude, although the group assignment plays critical role in students’ improvement, it cannot take over the lectured-base instruction in college and university course. Lecture-base instruction is the easiest way to acquire knowledge with the help of seasoned instructors. Without the lecture-base instruction, students may hard to achieve a outstanding group assignment due to the lack of back knowledge, and also may lead to a vicious competition