The following letter is from a group of Linford College alumni to the chair of the art department at the college.

“In a recent survey of college graduates, 90 percent agreed that participating in an internship increase their chances of finding a job after graduation, but last year, only 40 percent of Linford’s graduating art students had completed an internship. Skyway Designs, located in nearby Linford City, is the perfect company for students to intern with for a number of reasons: They offer internships in all of their departments, so every student is sure to find work that they are interested in. Additionally, their internships offer flexible working hours. Finally, Skyway Designs is known for being one of the best in the design business, as over 80 percent of business in Linfor City have used the services of Skyway Designs for their design needs. Given the vital role that work experience plays in a student’s success after graduation, we recommend that our art department require all art student to complete an internship with Skyway Designs before graduation.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Internship plays important role in finding a job after graduation from college, enabling students with a lot of experience which they can not learn from lectures and textbook. Therefor the alumni of Linford College recommend that every students in the art department should complete internship in Skyway Designs company before graduation. However, in my perspective, I think there are several questions need to be answered before apple this stradegy.

First of all, survey illustrated that 90 percent of students considear the internship as a significant part of finding a job in the future, while, however, only 40 percent of them find a internship before the graduation. That reminds us, since students rrelizea the necessary of internship, why there were only less than half student getting the internship, is the the competion of looking for an internship to hard or students have limited to find the job. Graduating students have to put a lot of effort in there graduation projects, and finding a internship will obviously put more pressure on their shoulders. If school force students to take an intern job in Skyway Designs, it may cause the back reward.

Moreover, when the internship become common and obliagtry, the priviellge of students who found internship on their own will define decrease. At that time, does the internship still need? The students who find the internship during the college, are those who have more effort and more clear plans about their future. If every students in the school take the same internship in the same company, then everyone is in the same start line, and the internship is not unique. The value of internship will become less essential, compared with the important position it took.

Last but nor least, does the internships in the Skyway Design are consord with the students’ major? Compared with the number of students in the art department, the jobs offers in the company is limited, which rose a problem that not every students can find a internship where they can put their knowledge into practice. For example, students may find a internship that just need to copy and sort some documents in the company, which has less contribution in finding a job in the future.

In conclude, before applying this recommendation in to practice, alumnis need take whether students have extra time and effort to take the intern, whether the internship still have advantage in the future jobs if every students get an intern, and if every students can find a suitable internship in the Skyway Designs.