Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree

It’s true that in the present age the media has infiltrated the lives of public figures to an extent that their private lives are no longer private. Even the actions of public figures outside their domain of work is scrutinized and reported. In this scenario it becomes hard to maintain a public image free from any accusations but it doesn’t mean one cannot be a living legend.

A public figure especially someone answerable to public at large cannot take all his actions which may seem just to one and all. Take the honourable president of the US Barack Obama for example, all his actions and decisions must not be taken solely by him. He is also a part of a system which collectively decides what is good for the country. Yet being the face of the country, it is him who bears the responsibility for anything that goes wrong. The opposition will always seek opportunities for criticizing his actions no matter how well intended they are and those criticisms are not always unadulterated when they reach the masses. The imperative, hence, lies with the people as well to be empathetic to the person they look up to and not blatantly believe what’s being served to them.

We have had several eminent scientists who lived their lives as legends and got even more adulation from the public posthumously. The eminent scientist from India Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam Azad was immensely respected throughout his career as a scientist and later as the President of India as well. The onus of public image lies with the person as well how well they manage to steer their lives away from controversies.

Indeed, the media scrutinizes public figures’ actions and not always reports them honestly to the public but we have had several examples of people who lived their lives as heroes. The history itself leaves the claim that that it is not possible for a society to regard a living person a hero unwarranted to say the least.