argument:Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, how

The presented argument talks about tracing a unique pattern found in woven baskets to the prehistoric village of Palea but, after finding a similar basket in a village across the river to Palea, concludes that the Palean baskets are not uniquely endemic to Palea. The argument might be correct in its conclusion but it fails to address other factors which warrant a detailed discussion.

The first question that needs to be answered is the extent of similarity of the basket found in Lithos with the ones found only in the vicinity of Palea. It’s mentioned archaeologists discovered a “so-called” basket in Lithos. The term “so-called” is pretty vague to be relied upon. Were the baskets found in Lithos had exactly same patterns as those found in Palea? It could be the case that the natives of both regions separately made baskets with a matching -- but not exactly similar -- pattern.

The argument mentions that the Brim river was deep and broad and could only be crossed by a boat and since no boats were found, the two villages could not have exchanged items across the river. Anthropological studies might reveal that the two villages had friendly relations with each other and exchanged items across the river using wooden logs which suggests a possibility of finding a Palean basket across the river as well. Even if they could not have contacted each other due to the breadth of river reaching miles, someone, in Palea, might have floated a basket in the river and it reached Lithos and the people there got inspired to make baskets using the same pattern.

The argument doesn’t mention about the thoroughness of the search conducted for boats. They might have used boats and the boats got drifted away with the flow of the river and the researchers failed to take this factor into account.

Only after answering the above possible questions can a definite conclusion be reached.