A nation should require all of it’s students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Designing education policies for a nation is an important task for any nation as education is the foundation for leading a meaningful life and appreciating things around us. While keeping the same curriculum would help evaluating students based on a common criteria, extending the same curriculum till students enter college might prove counterproductive beyond a certain grade.

Basic knowledge of important subjects in absolutely indispensable in our lives. The curriculum of a school education system should be designed in such a way that students get exposure to all the necessary subjects they will need sooner or later in their lives. For example, we need basic arithmetic knowledge in even the seemingly mundane activities that we do such as, counting change at a grocery store, understanding what the body-mass-index ratio actually means etc. A common curriculum will uniformly impart necessary knowledge which we often take for granted in our day to day lives.

Another reason for keeping all students under the same umbrella could be that interests take time to develop. A student who dreaded biology in early school years might go on to become a succesful surgeon later and the reason for that could be the guidance he/she got when they were ready to exploit the same. In India, we have a common curriculum till grade 10 and then the students are allowed to choose their major subjects of study for the remaining two years of school education before college which, in my view, is perfectly fine provided the education till grade 10 prepares the student to discern his/her areas of interests when they are required to make a choice.

Having stated the advantages of same coursework, it should be noted that by the time students come to a stage where they are supposed to select their line of study in college, it would be better if they are equipped with at least some fundamental knowledge about their prospective career. A student choosing civil engineering as his major should not base his decision upon simply the awe we feel while seeing megastructures documentaries on National Geographic. He must be aware that an engineering coursework involves advanced mathematics and whether he is actually interested in same. Providing a lenient coursework in, say, the latter two years of school education land students with a lucid understanding of what exactly their intended career demands.

To sum up, a common curriculum till a certain grade in school will serve as a foundation for all-round development of students, on the other hand, having exposure to their prospective subjects of study, in later years of schooling itself, will make them choose their careers wisely.