The human mind will always be superior to machines because machines are only tools of human minds.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In d

Machines are a product of human thinking. When man wanted to cut down mundane tasks and do things faster, he invented computer; when he wanted to reach his destinations faster, he invented the wheel. All the machines which humans have invented have improved with time because humans have an inexhaustible pool of past knowledge which machines don’t. The ability of humans to always strive for better makes him superior to machines.

Humans invent machines to expand their footprint in the universe. Early humans – driven by their basic needs – made tools for hunting animals, invented fire for cooking food and built shelter for their protection. When the basic needs got satisfied, they went a step ahead and invented electricity. This chain continues till date and the driver for all the magnificent inventions which we see around us is the insatiable curiosity of the human mind. We can build cars for making transportation faster but there will always be the next generation who will improvise upon the already existing knowledge and build airplanes!

It’s the very human activities which make us feel the converse to be true that machines are no less than human mind. The Hiroshima and Nagasaki bombing in Japan by the United States served as an example of machines showing dominance over the human race. We should, however, note that we invented bombs for our safety not for mass destruction. Machines will only be as powerful as we let them to be. The old adage fits perfectly here that “Science is a good servant but a bad master.”

Machines are only our allies to explore the unexplored, to uncover the mysteries of the universe and above all to serve the humanity. The concept of superiority comes only when someone wants to show power. If we abandon this concept, then we won’t see machines as our servant but more as our allies in our mission.