The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree

The ever growing world population is bringing with it a host of complex challenges – one of which is waste management. As consumerism is also increasing, the amount of waste generated per household is also on a rise. Effective waste management is important for health of citizens and the environment as well. However, for a solution like the one presented in the argument to succeed, the pros in favor should outweigh the cons against it and it doesn’t seem to be the case with the solution presented.

The practical application of the measuring trash from each household poses the biggest problem. Trash collected from individual households could be measured but a large population of any city resides in townships or apartment buildings where there is collection system. Measuring trash per household in such areas might not be practically possible.

Even if sophisticated measures are developed which make measuring trash from each household possible, such solutions can only work in developed urban areas. For example, in India and in many developing countries, a large population resides in small towns and villages where even basic waste collection are not in place, such a waste management system can be best said to be a far-fetched possibility.

In keeping the overall picture in mind, we could develop practical solutions to the environmental problems caused by waste. First, the waste disposal sites could be created outside the city which will help protect citizens’ health from the various deleterious effects caused by waste such as foul odour, poisonous gases etc. Second, awareness campaigns should be conducted among less educated and illiterate populations who don’t shy from throwing waste in public places.

In conclusion, before arriving at a solution the overall picture must be kept in mind not just a specific segment of population.