Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain y

Not all the problems of future can be anticipated in advance but remaining prepared for the ones we anticipate might leave us better prepared when the anticipated problems actually arise. The immediate problems of today might be problems of today because of the very reason we did not anticipate them in the past or even if we did anticipate them, we were too focused on solving immediate problems of those times.

It is true that the success of any government is judged by the work done by the same in its incumbency. This implies that solving problems of today should be on top agenda of any government but it should not come at a cost of remaining oblivious or ignorant to the problems of future. Take the recent terrorist bombings at a train station in Belgium for example. The government of Belgium should have been wary of a possible attack in the light of recent terrorist attacks by the same organization in Paris, France. Had Belgium been better prepared or anticipated a future attack, the same could have been avoided.

Governments should allocate its resources for tackling present and future problems in a balanced manner though. For example, investing in defence, research and development and long term policies is absolutely crucial for a government but resources allocated in these avenues should not take government’s focus away from the need of the hour.