A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal re

Although the relation between levels of tooth decay and no. of visits for professional dental care seem to suggest an inverse relationship, the argument overlooks several other factors before reaching to the conclusion that regular dental care does not prevent tooth decay.

The comparison in the argument is drawn between two distinct geographical locations. Where Nepal, surrounded by Himalayas, does not have much industries, motor vehicles and hence significantly lower levels of air pollution, on the other hand, the suburban areas in US are relatively more polluted. This implies the chemical composition of air in both the areas must be very different which may impact the health of gums. Also, the level of contamination of water in US must be higher than Nepal which might be be one of the reasons of greater levels of tooth decay in the US.

Second, the eating habits of the populace in the two locations must be very different. Due to the presence of various fast food chains like KFC, McDonald's in the suburban areas in the US, an average American must be consuming more junk food than a person residing in mountains where access to these easily available fast foods must be difficult. This difference in eating habits might be one of the reasons for lower tooth decay among Himalayan people.

Although professional dental care in Nepal is limited, the Nepalese people have access to a plethora of herbs found in the Himalayas. Knowledge of herbs might be very common among Nepalese people and hence they might themselves be their own doctors whereas people in US have to rely on professionals only.

Having stated the above differences, the regular dental care could actually be less helpful among people of suburban US areas. Due to the busy lives those people lead, if they are remiss in taking medications properly then the dental care might not be efficacious.

In conclusion the above points need to be considered before drawing an extreme conclusion like the one mentioned in the argument.