The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

The word contemporary means pertaining to present time and the people who are primary drivers of the present time are the youth. Youth are sanguine and novel in their ideologies and therefore understanding the youth culture will lead to a clearer understanding of the modern culture. If humanity is Olympics then youth are the torch-bearers.

Young people are amenable to change and they welcome change gracefully. The youth of today has virtually access to everything under the Sun. Take technology, for example, it will be a trite thing to say that the social media of today is dominated by youth. The last decade is evident of the way society has changed after the advent of social media. It’s the youth who is responsible for the penetration of social media in our lives. The whole world has shifted to WhatsApp from normal text messaging, public grievances are being addressed on Twitter, people use platforms like Facebook to raise their voices against injustice in society. The activities of youth can have a dramatic impact on the way a society functions.

Youth are more open to risks than elder people of a generation. Partly because they are not as burdened with responsibilities as the elder generation is. The modern startup culture shows how their endeavours are changing the world. A 22-year-old Indian college dropout changes the way we book hotels, two American guys are able to change the world sitting in their little garage. In a sense, we can say the young are the face of the future.