Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and suppor

Citizens of a nation feel proud if its cultural history is diverse and they feel safe and secure when its military is strong. Art is for the soul and if the soul is not free from fear then art becomes less appealing to the soul.

Rabindranath Tagore, through his poem 'Where the mind is without fear', conveyed his vision for a nation. Investment in defense is important for the stability of a nation. Nations spend a significant portion of their budgets in research and development in developing indigenous technologies, buying state-of-the-art arsenal and aircraft only to be prepared for dealing with anything that threatens the integrity and safety of them. Threats like violation of ceasefire at borders with neighbouring countries and acts of terrorism do not come with a warning and a nation needs to be prepared for such situations.

The rise of extremist terrorist groups like ISIS is a grave concern not for individual nations but for humanity in general. Such terrorist groups acquire a lot of weapons through funding from unknown sources which are forcing governments to remain alert more than ever. For example, survival in Syria is the need of the hour, investment in arts would be the last thing in Syria's government's agenda.

Investment in military should not come at an exclusion of investment in arts. Arts promote tourism which is important for the nation as well both from the economic and cultural point of view.