Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Some people contend that in the contemporary society, everyone's repute is facing to be diminished, owing to the wide-ranging social media. Under such exposure, people's downside would be disseminated to the public, which leads to a fact that none can be a hero. However, I hold the opposite view that hero does exist in the world.

To begin with, I express my appreciation to the reason part. It's true that many famous people with worldwide fame have been negatively affected by media. With the development of the Internet and technology, the news can be spread around the world within a second. Whether it is right or wrong, the news capable of invoking a sensation could be focused too much by the public. Therefore, the disadvantages of a celebrity will be magnified and exaggerated. To be more specific, Bill Clinton was the president of America, who encouraged the advancement of information technology and improved national economy. Unfortunately, when his marital disloyalty get exposure to the public, people removed their attention from his feats, focusing too much on the scandal and overlooking his contribution to America. In such case, the media definitely harms one's reputation.

Nevertheless, not each extraordinary person has sensational scandals worthy to be exploited exhaustively by the media. Sometimes, the stories and behaviors of those people are always positive. Under this circumstance, media can even serve as a tool that publicizes the achievements of such people, creating a status of moral model. When it comes to Bill Gates, people will consider him as one of most successful businessmen in the world. Yet, except for being an elite of IT industry, he is also the founder of Bill & Melinda Gates foundation that has been helping the poor people who are suffering contagious diseases in Africa. According to the report of media, from 1994-2020, he has donated over 35 billion dollars to the needy people. Because of the exposure, his behaviors were respected and followed by more and more people in these years.

Finally, in my opinion, the society and citizens are still expecting the advent of the heroes. In some country, the crime rate remains constant, which results from the scarcity of belief and government relevant education. The status of hero is helpful to identify the behavioral standard and excellent belief that encourage everyone to follow. By this way, the government get a chance to present the positive atmosphere of society. Under this circumstance, it's not surprising that government would like to find someone and to regards him/her as a hero. For example, Youyou Tu is the owner of Nobel Prize in the field of physiology in 2015, who devoted much vigor and effort into a series of researches on artemisinin to treat malaria. Her contribution helped millions of people's life in Africa. For her prodigious contribution and arduous attitude toward her work, the media disseminated her story and whole society considered her as the hero. From then on, she has been the standard of every practitioner.

In a nutshell, as the opinion stated above, both reason and claim of the issue are not totally true.