Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Hero, which people relate to someone who sacrifices themselves to save others, or whom led the human civil to another brand-new level. The claim state that there is no more hero as such reputation cannot survived after the medias’ scrutinisation. I personally disagree with such assumption for several reasons.

At the first, the actual ‘hero’ usually not doing what they do for the purpose of winning such sounding reputation. For instance, during the Covid-19 pandemic, a lot of doctors were being called as hero, as they went to the front line even there knew they might get infected, not seeing their family for a long time and facing the fact they cannot save everyone. Although, they face the mental and physical exhaustion, lots of them still working at the front line to save as much life as they can. With or without the medias’ report, give or give not them the reputation as hero, these doctors will always chose to saved lives and cured patients.

Secondly, there is no absolute right and wrong just like human have weakness and merits. Even the media critique shortcomings of such person and expose the scandals that person was involved, it does not necessary diminish the person’s contribution to the society or even the whole human being. Thomas Edison, who invented the light-bulb that led human entering the another era of technology. Although he is arrogant and constantly trying to mar George Westinghouse’s alternative current system to promote his direct current system, his accomplishment cannot be ignored.

In conclusion, people usually win the name of hero for what they did rather than the other way around. Most of the time, their contribution weights more than their personality or personal life that being exposed by the media, therefore, the media scrutiny will not necessary demur hero, as it is defined by their achievements.