Claim: Group assignments that students must work together to complete should replace a substantial amount of traditional lecture-based instruction in college and university courses.

Reason: It is vital for students to gain experience collaborating with peers to study a topic and to achieve a common goal.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

As social animals, group work is an important part of human life, especially when one stepped into the adult life and start to work in a company. No matter you are sole trader or incorporation, team work is essential, as it might affect the company’s future growth. School provided a great environment for students to practice before they get into the job market. However, team work is indeed important but I am not consent with the claim that the lectures should be supplant with team work.

On the one hand, group assignments are essential for students to learn how to work in a team. As everyone got their own self-phone, if is in lecture-based class, during the break, they could just play on their phone to avoid the awkwardness of deadly silence and in the end of semester, they still did get to know anyone in there classes, which is adverse for them to develop social skills. Hence, if the lecture are replaced with group work, they could get to know each other better and cultivate their skill Werther as a team member or even a leader.

On the other hand, some subjects might better be taught in a lecture-based class. For instance, the accountant subject that requires substantial amount of focus on details. To understand subject better, students need to remember how to record figures and apply accounting standards, therefore, if the students are in group, they might get distracted by team member and the teaching effiency will be unpleasant. Moreover, if the students working as a team, minority of people might be reluctant to devote their efforts in and leave most of the works to others, and get a grade that they don’t deserve.

In conclusion, replacing majority of lecture with group work might not be a wise idea as it not suitable for all the subjects and could courage some students to slack. Despite group work do cultivate student’s to work as a team, there had more limitations compare with the lecture-based class.